Indiana Duty to Stop Responsibilities

June 15, 2015 | Blog

Did you know? If you are involved in an accident, you must stop your vehicle. Even if there are no injuries, you are required to stop and speak with the other driver, give them your license and registration information and wait for law enforcement if necessary.

If there are injuries involved, you must remain on the scene and provide reasonable assistance to the injured until help arrives.

Failing to stop and comply with your legally required duties results in criminal charges.

Ref: IC 9-26-1

Failure to Stop – Indiana Hit and Run Penalties

Generally if you fail to stop and fulfill your duties at the scene of an accident, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and fines reaching $5,000.

However if the accident resulted in serious injury of a person and you fail to stop, the charge is elevated to a Class D felony. Class D felonies are punishable by 6 months to 3 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.

Ref: IC 9-26-1-8

If you are involved in a hit and run, the 3 immediate things you should do are:

1. Take a photo of the plate number and the vehicle if you can.  If not, immediately write down all the information you can remember about the hit and run car.

2. Call 911 for medical treatment and to have a police officer come to the scene. If you are unable to call, try to flag down someone to help you.

3. Obtain names and addresses of all witnesses.  They may leave before the police arrive.

If you were injured, please call me now for a free consultation.  I have obtained settlements for many people who were victims of hit-and-run drivers.