What are the Consequences for Driving Without Insurance?

May 13, 2021 | Car Accidents

Most people understand that they have to have a current driver’s license and insurance in order to operate a vehicle in the state of Indiana. However, there are times when individuals choose to operate without insurance. Individuals could face significant penalties for driving without insurance, including major fines, license suspension, and the requirement to obtain more costly insurance coverages moving forward.

Indiana Vehicle Insurance Requirements

In the state of Indiana, all drivers are required to carry insurance to remain legal on the roadway. This is not up for debate; it is just simply a fact. In Indiana, drivers are required to have the following coverage as part of their auto insurance policy:

  • Bodily injury liability: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: Minimum of $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist bodily Injury: Minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

We can see that the state of Indiana does require drivers to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. Other states around the country make this optional, but not Indiana. However, Indiana does not require drivers to carry uninsured motorist property damage coverage or underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. These can be rejected when a person obtains their policy.

What Happens if You are Caught Without Insurance?

All drivers have to maintain insurance in the state of Indiana to remain legal. Drivers have to provide proof of financial responsibility through a certificate of compliance (COC). If a person receives a request to provide a certificate of compliance, the insurance carrier has to submit the certificate proving that they currently have or had proper coverage at the time of the request.

If a COC is not submitted within 40 days from the request, the person’s driver’s license will be suspended until the COC is presented. The suspension will be removed from a person’s record after the insurance provider shows that the vehicle was covered at the time in question. If a person fails to possess appropriate insurance coverage, this could result in a license suspension for an entire year.

If a person is convicted of driving without insurance in Indiana, they will face a range of consequences. This includes the following:

  • Penalties for first offense. If a driver fails to present valid proof of insurance when requested by law enforcement officials, they could lose their driver’s license for 90 days. In order to reinstate the license, the person will have to obtain insurance and pay a $250 fee to get their license back. If a person is found to have been operating their vehicle without insurance, they will have to provide proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) for three years from the date their license suspension ends.
  • Penalties for a second offense. If a person is caught driving without insurance for a second time over a five-year period, their driver’s license will be suspended for one year. The reinstatement fee for their license will be $500 in this case. Additionally, their vehicle registration may also be suspended for one year. A person will have to obtain an SR-22 certificate for three years.
  • Penalties for third and subsequent offenses. If a person is caught driving without insurance for a third time over a five-year period, their license will be suspended for an entire year. Additionally, the driver will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $1,000 to get their license back. Vehicle registration will also be suspended for one year. In these cases, a person will have to obtain an SR-22 certificate for five years.

If you’ve been seriously injured by an uninsured motorist, contact an Indianapolis uninsured motorist attorney today.

To protect you from Coronavirus, we are now offering a quick easy REMOTE intake process. Learn More.